The Mary Miller Hayes Leadership Award

Celebrate a Woman Who Merits the Mary Miller Hayes Leadership Award

ProMedica Memorial Hospital is now accepting nominations for the annual Mary Miller Hayes Leadership Award, which recognizes a woman for her leadership abilities and pioneering spirit. The deadline for submission is Thursday, April 2, 2015.

Mary Miller Hayes, wife of Webb C. Hayes and daughter-in-law to Rutherford B. Hayes, was an industrious woman who helped shape the history of Sandusky County. Through philanthropy and volunteering, she dedicated her life to making our community the place that it is today. In addition to providing the initial $50,000 toward the founding of Memorial Hospital, she challenged the community to raise the necessary funds, which lead to the successful completion and opening of the original hospital in 1918.

Hayes further demonstrated her commitment by founding the Mary Miller Hayes School of Nursing in 1925. Mrs. Hayes donated her Court Street home to the Fremont Federation of Women Club and with Webb Hayes endowed the Hayes Foundation, which created Hayes Memorial Library and today has become the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center. She was a member of the Colonial Dames of America, Daughters of the American Revolution, the Ladies' Auxiliary of the Edgar Thurston Post of the American Legion, Emerson Camp United Spanish-American War Veterans, life member of trustees of Memorial Hospital and life member of the Hayes Foundation.

As a sign of appreciation of Mrs. Hayes' leadership and dedication to the community, Memorial Hospital established the Mary Miller Hayes Leadership Award in 2010. The first award was posthumously awarded to Mary Miller Hayes’ family in her memory. The award has become part of the Memorial tradition, as it will be awarded annually at the Auxiliary Charity Ball in April.

For additional information regarding the award, download the nomination form below, or contact Julie Reinhart, Executive Director, ProMedica Memorial Hospital Foundation, at 419.334.6667.

Mary Miller Hayes Award - Nomination Form Mary Miller Hayes Award - Nomination Form (288 KB)

Mary Miller Hayes Leadership Award Recipients:

2015 - Dorothy Kern

2014 - Cate Knipp

2013 - Kay Reiter

2012 - Iracema Arevalo, M.D.

2011 - Mary Wonderly, M.D. 

2010 - Mary Miller Hayes (posthumous)

For more information about the Mary Miller Hayes Leadership Award, contact Chasity O'Neill, director of development and marketing at Memorial Hospital at 419.334.6667.